Our rich history is full of surprises. When St Paul’s was consecrated in 1843 by the newly arrived Bishop, George Augustus Selwyn, St Paul’s became the cathedral of the Diocese of New Zealand. It remained the cathedral for over 40 years and the first General Synod was held here in 1868. Bishop Selwyn’s throne still sits in our sanctuary and dates from this time.At the end of the Depression, in an attempt to get the wheels of industry turning, the government offered a 10% subsidy to churches and other institutions that were able to spend money on construction. An application was made, and in 1935 St Paul’s qualified for assistance to complete the Chancel extension, including all our kids' rooms, bathrooms and the kitchen downstairs. The space was last reconfigured in 1969.